Nordtest Scheme ctr ISO 9712

The comparisons between the standards EN 473/Nordtest and ISO 9712 shows small (marginal) differences and some of the certification bodies in Europe is accredited for both. These bodies issues certificates containing both standards and in the certificates they refers to own detailed handbooks of instructions which fulfils the requirements from both systems.

EN 473/Nordtest and ISO 9712 both describes general principles for qualification and certification of Non Destructive Testing personnel. The certification has to be done by a third part certification body. This certification body has in addition to fulfil the requirements in EN 45 013.

The level of requirement of examination and certification, the validity period of the certificate and the partitioning in industrial sectors are almost identical and shows only few and marginal difference between the two standards.

In both standards the general description of examination and certification requires an additional document with detailed instructions defining the procedure for the examination and certification.

NORDTEST DOC GEN 010 provides the detailed requirements, which assure an uniform performance of examination and certification. NORDTEST DOC GEN 010 meets the requirements in both standards.

Background documentation

EN 473 and ISO 9712 both describes general principles for qualification and certification of Non Destructive Testing personnel when the job is done by a certification body.

This means that none of the certification systems have all details in the text and contains only as standard the common regulations.

To describe in details how the examination and certification is performed you need instructions with clear descriptions on how to do in each step of the procedure. For instance when you validate the reports, the practical tests, the judgements etc.

Examples of such systems are NORDTEST DOC GEN 010, COFREND, PCN etc.

Requirements for certification activity

Both standards have reference to EN 40 013. In both the certification body has to fulfil the requirements in EN 40 013.

In ISO 9712 the certification body ought to be a “non-profit” organisation. The certification body should not be part of training courses in non destructive testing and the body have to be approved by the national NDT community. The certification body have also a committee with representatives from the NDT-association, the authority, suppliers etc.

Both standards describes responsibility for the authorized body and the examination centre. The authorized body and the examination centre applies to the certification body.


Both standards describes procedures for the common non destructive test (NDT) methods.

Both standards uses almost the same terminology and requirements for the competence and the experience of people examined to the level 1, 2 and 3.

The requirements for training courses (number of hours) is larger in EN 473 for the methods of Magnetic testing (MT) and Penetrant testing (PT) than in ISO 9712.

The requirements of experience are equivalent.

The requirements of visual acuity are equal.

The requirement of number of questions in the general examination is equivalent. In EN 473 the number of questions is larger in the specific examination of the methods MT and PT at level 2.

The requirements to the way of asking the general examination questions (multi choice-technique with one right out of four possible answers) are only described in EN 473.

The recommendations of maximum time in the examinations are equivalent.

The requirement of a minimum number of objects for the practical examination is only described in EN 473. In ISO 9712 this question is open.

The grades for the examination are equivalent in both systems.

The requirement for successful complete the examination is identical.

The requirement of the examiner is equivalent.

The validities, the renewal and the recertification are identical in the two standards.

A structured credit system for level 3 is a part of both systems.

The certificate

The certificates in both systems require an employer authorizing signature.

In both standards the description of industrial sectors are almost equal.

The period of validity for the certificates is equal.